# Klaus Regling

Klaus Regling is the current and first Managing Director of the European Stability Mechanism. He is also the CEO of the European Financial Stability Facility (EFSF), a position he has held since the creation of the EFSF in June 2010.

Klaus Regling has worked for over 40 years as an economist in senior positions in the public and the private sector in Europe, Asia, and the U.S., including a decade with the IMF in Washington and Jakarta and a decade with the German Ministry of Finance where he prepared Economic and Monetary Union in Europe. From 2001 to 2008, he was Director General for Economic and Financial Affairs of the European Commission.

During 2008-09, he spent a year at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy in Singapore where he researched financial and monetary integration in Asia. Subsequently, he opened an economic and financial consultancy in Brussels.

Previously, Mr. Regling had gained experience in the private sector as Managing Director of the Moore Capital Strategy Group in London (1999-2001) and as an economist with the German Bankers' Association. Mr. Regling studied economics at the Universities of Hamburg and Regensburg.

### **Paschal Donohoe**

Paschal Donohoe was elected Eurogroup President on 9 July 2020 by the euro area finance ministers. Mr Donohoe was appointed Minister for Finance and Minister for Public Expenditure & Reform in June 2017, and re-appointed as Minister for Finance in June 2020. Prior to that, he served in government as Minister of Public Expenditure and Reform (from May 2016) and Minister of Transport, Tourism and Sport (2014-2016). Mr Donohoe has also held the position as the Minister for European Affairs at the Department of An Taoiseach and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade from July 2013 to July 2014.

He was elected to Dáil Éireann (Irish Parliament) in February 2011 representing the constituency of Dublin Central. Prior to his election, he was a member of Seanad Éireann (Irish Senate) from 2007 to 2011. He served as member of Dublin City Council from 2004 to 2007.

He is a graduate of the University of Dublin, Trinity College, with a degree in Politics and Economics.

## Mário Centeno

Mário Centeno has served as Governor of Portugal's central bank since July 2020. He received his PhD in Economics from Harvard University in 2000. He was Portugal's Minister of Finance from 2015 to 2020 and Eurogroup's President from 2018 to 2020.

His educational background includes a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics and an Economics Degree from the Lisbon School of Economics and Management, Universidade Técnica de Lisboa.

As President of the Eurogroup, he led the group of Euro Area Finance Ministers to the completion of important institutional features of the Area. In that capacity, he was also appointed President-Elect of the Board of Governors of the European Stability Mechanism and participated, as an observer, in the Governing Council of the European Central Bank. He also chaired the Board of Governors of the European Investment Bank (2017-18).

From 2004 to 2013, he was Deputy Head of the Economics and Research Department and, from 2014 to 2015, Advisor to the Board of Directors of the Banco de Portugal. During this period, he was also a member of the Statistical Council and the Economic Policy Committee of the European Commission.

He is a Professor at the Universidade de Lisboa and the Universidade NOVA de Lisboa. As part of his academic work, he has published in international scientific journals in the fields of economics and mathematics and is the author of books and chapters of books.

# Jeroen Dijsselbloem

Jeroen Dijsselbloem (full name Jeroen René Victor Anton Dijsselbloem) was elected Eurogroup President for a second term on 13 July 2015 by the euro area finance ministers. He was elected Eurogroup President for the first time on 21 January 2013. J.Dijsselbloem is the second person to hold the post since the Eurogroup was founded.

Dijsselbloem was Minister for Finance of the Netherlands until October 2017. Since February 2013 he has also served as Chair of the Board of Governors of the European Stability Mechanism.

An experienced economist and politician, Dijsselbloem has served in a number of government positions, including as an advisor to the Dutch Minister for Agriculture (1996-1998). He also worked as a policy officer for the Dutch Labour party (PvdA) (1993-1996) and was a member of Wageningen Municipal Council (1994-1997). From 2000 to 2012 he was a member of the House of Representatives of the Netherlands.

Dijsselbloem studied business and agricultural economics at Wageningen University (1985-1991). He was born in Eindhoven (The Netherlands) on 29 March 1966.

### Jean-Claude Juncker

Jean-Claude Juncker was born in 1954 in Luxembourg. He studied law in Strasburg and in 1974 he joined Luxembourg's Christian Social People's Party (CSV –EPP family). Jean-Claude Juncker served in many governmental posts, most visible as Prime Minister of Luxemburg (1995-2013), as the President of the Euro Group (2004-2013) and from 2014 to 2019 as President of the European Commission. By the time Juncker left office, he was the longest-serving head of any national government in the EU and one of the longest-serving democratically elected leaders in the world, with his tenure encompassing the introduction of the EURO, the European financial and sovereign debt crisis, the migration crisis in 2015 and Brexit.